TWiki> ECE Web>AlphaFacultyTest (2010-07-01, Main.jakob)EditAttach

Lo'ay Abu Salah, Research Assistant Professor

PhD, University of Illinois at Chicago, 2006

Wireless sensor networks, network security, computer networking,Communications and Signal Processing, computer simulation models, Biometric systems, optimal control in robotics and Interdisciplinary Product Development.

labusa@ece.uic.edu1034 SEO312.413.0030web page

Rashid Ansari, Professor

PhD, Princeton University, 1981

Image and video processing, layered video compression and packetized transmission, multi-modal signal analysis, multirate filter banks and wavelets, and speech processing.

ansari@ece.uic.edu1141 SEO312.996.5489web page

Robert Becker, Lecturer

MSc, The University of Illinois, Chicago, 1989

robert@ece.uic.edu913 SEO312.996.5453web page

Jezekiel Ben-Arie, Professor

PhD, Israel Institute of Technology, 1986

Computer vision, image processing, video processing, neural networks, multimedia databases, signal processing, auditory modelling, computer engineering, human computer interaction, human activity analysis.

benarie@ece.uic.edu1101 SEO312.996.2648web page

Wolfgang-Martin Boerner, Emeritus Professor

PhD, University of Pennsylvania, 1967

Electromagnetics, inverse scattering, modern optics, geoelectromagnetism, electromagnetic imaging, remote sensing, wideband radar and optical polarimetry.

boerner@ece.uic.edu4210 SEL312.996.5480 web page

Vahe Caliskan, Lecturer

PhD, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, 2000

power electronics, analog circuit design, automotive electronics and computer-aided modeling/simulation

vahe@ece.uic.edu921 SEO312.996.6013 web page

Masud Hasan Chowdhury, Assistant Professor

PhD, Northwestern University, 2004

High performance issues in deep sub-micron VLSI circuits.

masud@ece.uic.edu923 SEO312.996.6016 web page

Natasha Devroye , Assistant Professor

PhD, Harvard University, 2007

Applied mathematics, communications and signal processing with a particular focus on cognitive radio networks, information theory, multi-user communication and coding, wireless networks, dynamic resource allocation and scheduling.

devroye@ece.uic.eduweb page

Shantanu Dutt, Professor

PhD, University of Michigan, 1990

Computer-Aided design of FPGA and VLSI circuits (physical design, physical synthesis, logic synthesis, high-level synthesis, timing and power-driven design tools with temperature considerations), combinatorial optimization, fault-tolerant computing—systems and chips, trust and security in VLSI chips and computer systems, FPGA testing, and parallel computing.

dutt@ece.uic.edu930 SEO312.355.1314 web page

Mitra Dutta, Distinguished Professor and Head of Department

PhD, University of Cincinnati, 1981

Optoelectronics devices and novel quantum and nanoscale devices, optical characterization of optoelectronic devices and structures, wide band gap structures and devices, bio-optoelectronics.

dutta@ece.uic.edu1027 SEO312.355.2131 web page

Danilo Erricolo, Associate Professor

Ph.D, University of Illinois at Chicago, 1998

Electromagnetic scattering, propagation of electromagnetic radiation in complex environments, interaction of electromagnetic radiation with digital systems, wireless communications.

erricolo@ece.uic.edu1111 SEO312.996.5771web page

Alan Feinerman, Associate Professor

PhD, Northwestern University, 1987

Miniaturization of the scanning electron microscope; linear accelerator/undulator and other analytical instruments; 3D-fabrication techniques.

feinerman@uic.edu3019 ERF312.996.2313 web page

Siddhartha Ghosh, Associate Professor

PhD, University of Michigan, 2003

Molecular beam epitaxy of compound semiconductors and multifunctional oxides (BaTiO3, ZnO, HgCdTe, etc) and fabrication of high-performance optoelectronic devices.

sghosh@ece.uic.edu3015 ERF312.996.5256 web page

Vladimir Goncharoff, Lecturer

PhD, Northwestern University, 1983

Digital speech processing; computer-aided circuit analysis.

volodia@uic.edu1008 SEO312.996.3421 web page

Daniel Graupe,Emeritus Professor

Ph.D, University of Liverpool, England, 1963

Control systems, time series analysis, stochastic signal and image processing, wavelets, blind adaptive filtering, neural networks, neural engineering, electrical neuromuscular stimulation and biomedical control, speech processing.

graupe@ece.uic.edu1117 SEO312.996.3085 web page

Ashfaq Khokhar, Professor

PhD, University of Southern California, 1993

Content-based storage and retrieval for multimedia applications, distributed multimedia database systems and networks, data mining and OLAP high performance computing, image and video processing, parallel architectures and algorithms.

ashfaq@ece.uic.edu1013 SEO312.413.9460 web page

Sharad R. Laxpati, Associate Professor

PhD, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, 1965

Electromagnetic theory, antennae, computational electromagnetic scattering, microwaves, wave propagation and communication.

laxpati@ece.uic.edu1105 SEO312.996.5493 web page

Gyungho Lee, Professor

PhD, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, 1986

Computer architecture, microprocessor and networking hardware design, compiler optimization, and computer system security.

ghlee@ece.uic.edu1032 SEO312.413.9657 web page

James Lin, Professor

PhD, University of Washington, 1971

Biomedical instrumentation; electromagnetic engineering for biology and medicine; imaging and sensing; bioelectromagnetics; mobile telecommunication safety; biological interactions of electromagnetic radiation including RF, microwaves, and lasers.

lin@ece.uic.edu1030 SEO312.413.1052 web page

Derong Liu, Professor, Director of Graduate Studies

PhD, University of Notre Dame, 1994

Wireless communications and wireless networks, intelligent control and learning control, and computational intelligence.

dliu@ece.uic.edu1023 SEO312.355.4475 web page

Sudip K. Mazumder, Associate Professor

PhD, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, Virginia, 2001

Interactive power networks, optical switching in power electronics, wireless motion sensing, fuel cell modeling and fuel cell power-conditioner system design, nonlinear analysis and control, modeling for packaging and prototyping.

mazumder@ece.uic.edu3013 ERF312.355.1315 web page

Vitali Metlushko, Professor

PhD, Moscow State University, Moscow, 1990

Advanced recording media, new magnetic materials and nano-technology.

vmetlush@ece.uic.edu3011 ERF312.413.7574 web page

Roland Priemer, Associate Professor, Director of Undergraduate Studies

PhD, Illinois Institute of Technology, 1969

Optimal and adaptive digital signal processing; fuzzy logic; neural networks; microprocessor based applications.

priemer@ece.uic.edu1123 SEO312.996.5491 web page

Wenjing Rao, Assistant Professor

PhD, University of California, San Diego, 2008

Reliability, Computer Aided Design, and novel computation paradigms in emerging nanoelectronic systems, defect and fault tolerance, VLSI test.

wenjing@ece.uic.edu1036 SEO312.355.0311
web page

Dan Schonfeld, Professor

PhD, Johns Hopkins University, 1990

Signal, Image, and Video Processing; Video Communications; Video Retrieval; Video Networks; Image Analysis and Computer Vision; Pattern Recognition; and Genomic Signal Processing.

ds@ece.uic.edu1104 SEO312.996.5847 web page

Michael Stroscio, Professor

PhD, Yale University, 1974

Electrical, optical, and mechanical properties of nanostructures, quantum transport, solid state electronics and optoelectronics, phonons in nanostructures, theory of nanodevices, applications of nanoscale structures and devices in electrical engineering and bioengineering.

stroscio@uic.edu808 SEO312.413.5968 web page

R. Michael Tanner, Professor, Provost, and Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs

Ph.D., Stanford University, 1971

Coding and information theory, computer simulation models, educational uses of information technology, and intellectual property.

312.413.3450web page

Daniela Tuninetti, Assistant Professor

PhD, Ecole nationale sup√İrieure des t√İl√İcommunications, 2002

Information and Coding Theory with special focus on multiuser networks and wireless communications. Our goal is to understand the ultimate limits of communication networks, seen a system,from physical layer to networking layer.

daniela@ece.uic.edu1038 SEO312.413.7431 web page

Piergiorgio L. E. Uslenghi, Professor

PhD, University of Michigan, 1967

Electromagnetics, scattering theory, modern optics, solid state, applied mathematics.

uslenghi@uic.edu807 SEO312.996.5487 web page

Kaijie Wu, Assistant Professor

PhD, Polytechnic University, Brooklyn, 2004

Computer Aided Design (CAD) of fault tolerant VLSI systems, countermeasures for side-channel cryptanalysis for crypto devices, hardware acceleration of secure communications, robust quantum-dot cellular automata based circuit design.

kaijie@ece.uic.edu1037 SEO312.413.7573 web page

H.Y. David Yang, Professor

PhD, University of California, Los Angeles, 1988

On-chip high-peformance inductor and transformer designs for RFIC, novel printed-circuit board antennas for wireless communications, RF interferences with electronics devices, and photonic band-gap structures.

hyang@ece.uic.edu1135 SEO312.996.0675 web page

Yingwei Yao, Assistant Professor

PhD, Princeton University, 2002

Energy-constrained wirless networks, adaptive protocol design for wireless communications, wireless multimedia systems design and analysis, blind system identification and blind source separation.

yyao@ece.uic.edu1106 SEO312.996.3420 web page

Philip S. Yu, Professor and Wexler Chair in Information Technology


Ph.D, Stanford University, 1978

Data mining, database and web

psyu @cs.uic.edu1138 SEO312.996.0498 web page

Oliver Yu, Research Associate Professor

PhD, University of B.C, 1997

Next generation Internet with differentiated and integrated services; WDM optical-switched network with GMPLS signaling and optical QoS control; 3G/4G wireless mobile network with end-to-end QoS control and mobility support over wireless medium and IP-based core network.

oyu@ece.uic.edu1108 SEO312.996.2308 web page

Milos Zefran, Associate Professor

PhD, University of Pennsylvania, 1996

Robotics, modeling and control of hybrid systems, geometric methods for robot trajectory planning, numerical methods for optimal control in robotics, human manipulation, rehabilitation.

mzefran@ece.uic.edu1028 SEO312.996.6495 web page

Zhichun Zhu, Assistant Professor

PhD, College of William and Mary, 2003

Computer architecture, parallel and distributed computing, performance modeling and evaluation, and energy-efficient computer designs.

zhu@ece.uic.edu1015 SEO312.355.0441 web page
Adjunct Faculty

Prith Banerjee, Senior Vice President of Research and Director of HP Labs Worldwide

PhD, University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign, 1984

Parallel alorithms for VLSI design automation, distributed memory parallel compilers, and compilers for adaptive computing.

prith.banerjee@hp.comweb page

Heinz Busta, Adjunct Professor,

Founder, Prairie Prototypes, LLC

PhD, Physics Northwestern University, 1973

MEMS/NEMS, sensors and actuators, nanofabrication, vacuum microelectronics, display technology, and programmed micro/nano assembly.

busta@uic.edu3014 ERF847.698.3757 web page

Florin Balasa, Assistant Professor

PhD, Polytechnical University of Bucharest, 1981

High-level synthesis and system-level exploration, physical design automation, mathematical programming & combinatorial optimization techniques and applications in CAD VLSI, data dependence analysis and code restructuring

fbalasa@cs.uic.edu1138 SEO312.355.2139web page

Christian Fischer


PhD, Telecom Paris (ENST), 2002

Signal Processing and Communications

fischerc@uic.edu

Ajay Kshemkalyani, Associate Professor

PhD, Ohio State University, 1991

Computer networks, distributed computing, distributed systems, algorithms, concurrent systems.

ajayk@cs.uic.edu915 SEO312.355.1309 web page

John Lillis, Associate Professor

PhD, University of California San Diego, 1996

CAD for VLSI -- placement, routing, logic synthesis, timing optimization; combinatorial Optimization -- local search, heurstics based on constraint imposition and relaxation.

jlillis@cs.uic.edu936 SEO312.355.1317 web page

Derrick C. Mancini, Professor

PhD, Uppsala University, 1994

Nanofabrication, advanced lithographies, MEMS & NEMS, nanofluids and nanogels, x-ray nanocharacterization and nanotomography, x-ray optics, and synchrotron radiation instrumentation.

mancini@anl.gov 630-400-0147web page

Arye Nehorai, Professor

PhD, Stanford University, 1983

Signal processing, communications, and biomedicine.

nehorai@ece.uic.edu1103 ERF312.996.2778 web page
Vera Pless, Professor
pless@math.uic.edu507 SEO312.413.2177web page

Charles Rhodes, Professor

PhD, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, 1969

Atomic and Molecular Physics

rhodes@uic.edu2140 SES312.996.4868 web page

Siva Sivanantham, Professor

PhD, University of Illinois at Chicago, 1988

Experimental condensed matter

siva@uic.edu2360 SES312.996.5092 web page

Stephen Yau

PhD, The State University of New York at Stony Brook, 1976

Algebraic geometry, singularity theory; complex geometry; CR geometry; nonlinear filtering theory; algebraic geometry code; information theory; control theory; financial math; image database; computer software testing.

yau@uic.edu409 SEO312.996.3065web page
Topic revision: r1 - 2010-07-01 - 19:13:03 - Main.jakob
 
Copyright 2016 The Board of Trustees
of the University of Illinois.webmaster@cs.uic.edu
WISEST
Helping Women Faculty Advance
Funded by NSF